Derry City
Sligo Rovers

Friday, 4 April, 2014
1 - 0
SSE Airtricity League
Derry City ensured Sligo Rovers disappointing start to the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division continued as Enda Curran earned the Candystripes a 1-0 victory at the Brandywell.
John Russell spurned two excellent chances for the visitors but it was Currran who sealed the points with his second-half strike.
Derry made a number of changes to their side, with Jon Paul McGovern making his debut, and Aaron Barry and Curran coming in for Barry Molloy and Ryan McBride who both dropped to the bench. Patrick McEleney was unavailable for selection due to a calf injury.
The Rovers side showed three personnel changes from the line-up which lost at Tallaght Stadium last week, with Joseph Ndo, John Russell and Eric Odhiambo all coming into the starting XI as Danny North, Seamus Conneely and Kieran Djilali missed the trip.
Roddy Collins’ side had the first real chance of the match on 16 minutes but Gary Rogers did extremely well to keep out Rory Patterson’s goal-bound effort.
A teasing cross from the right wing by McGovern, who was making his debut, on 35 minutes found Patterson on the penalty spot, but the ex-Linfield striker’s glancing header failed to trouble Rogers.
Early in the second half a Russell pass released Sean Maguire but his shot was parried by Doherty.
Derry took the lead on 54 minutes in super fashion when Curran’s long-range strike gave Rogers no chance and fizzed into the keeper’s bottom right-hand corner.
Rogers did well to keep his side in it when at full stretch he kept out Michael Duffy’s long-range strike.
Russell missed a sitter to level on 60 minutes when from close range he somehow fired wide after Maguire had created the opening.
Doherty made a wonder save on 75 minutes to keep Derry’s lead intact when saving a Russell header from point-black range after Evan McMillan’s downward header found the midfielder unmarked in the six-yard box.
Derry City: Doherty, Collins (Elbert 12), Byrne, Barry, Jarvis; Stewart, McGovern (R Curran 73), Ventre, Duffy; E Curran, Patterson (Molloy 59).
Sligo Rovers: Rogers, Keane, McMillan, Henderson, Greene; Cawley (Spillane 83), Ndo, Russell, Odhiambo (O’Connor 69), Gaynor; Maguire (Loftus 87).
Referee: Mr Derek Tomney (Dublin).