Derry City
Sligo Rovers

Friday, 5 September, 2014
2 - 1
SSE Airtricity League
Derry City fought back to see off ten-man Sligo Rovers 2-1 in the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division clash at the Brandywell.
Goals from Ryan McBride and Aaron Barry ensured the home side won the points after cancelling out Eamon Zayed's opening goal.
Richard Brush was called into action after 13 minutes as he did well to push away Patrick McEleney’s sweetly hit 20-yard free-kick from the left hand edge of the box.
Derry missed another good chance on 25 minutes when Dean Jarvis fired wide, after Mark Timlin had released the left-back.
That miss came back to haunt the home side as a minute later when, against the run of play, Sligo took the lead as former Brandywell favourite Zayed got in behind the City defence before blasting home.
The home side should have equalised on 36 minutes when McEleney was brought down inside the box by Kalen Spillane, but unfortunately for the striker his resulting spot-kick was kept out by Brush, who dived to his right and then got up to easily save McEleney’s poor follow-up header.
Derry deservedly levelled things right on the stroke of half-time as McEleney’s left wing free-kick was headed home by centre-back Ryan McBride.
City’s other centre-back popped up with a goal on 54 minutes when Barry raced in at the near post to met McEleney’s left wing corner to head past Brush.
Sligo were reduced to ten men when Danny Ledwith was dismissed after his poor challenge on Dean Jarvis resulted him getting a second yellow card followed by a red from referee David McKeon.
The ten men were unlucky not to concede a third soon after when substitute Michael Duffy got clear of the Rovers defence, but with only Brush to beat, the talented winger saw his shot hit the crossbar.
Right at the death the woodwork came to the home side's rescue when Spillane's header came back off the post.
Derry City: Doherty, Kelly, McBride, Barry, Jarvis; Molloy, McNamee (Patterson 74), Lowry; Dooley, P McEleney (Houston 85), Timlin (Duffy 63).
Sligo Rovers: Brush, Donelan (Keating 58), McMillan, Spillane, Davoren; Cretaro, O’Conor, Cawley, Ledwith; Zayed (Boylan 85), North.
Referee: Mr David McKeon (Dublin).