Galway United
Sligo Rovers

Sunday, 29 May, 2016
1 - 2
SSE Airtricity League
Gary Shanahan 79 Kieran Sadlier 72, 84
Kieran Sadlier scored twice as Sligo Rovers as the Bit O'Red recorded their sixth win in seven gamed with a 2-1 win over Galway United. 
Sadlier netted either side of Gary Shanahan's consolation strike as Rovers moved to within two points of the Tribesmen in sixth place. 
United's Armin Aganovic was shown a straight red card for an off the ball incident with just 20 minutes played. 
Neither side really threatened in the opening stages and the earliest sign of any danger arrived in the eighth minute when Raff Cretaro went down in the box under a challenge from Marc Ludden after a surging run, but referee Dave McKeown was unmoved by the protests
The home side's cause was not helped by the dismissal of Aganovic as an off the ball incident which was flagged up by the linesman between the Swedish man and Cretaro saw the 21-year-old brandished with a straight red card. Their uphill task was made all the steeper with a man less. 
The crowd were forced to wait until the 26th minute for the first shot on target as Sadlier forced Conor Winn into a save with a low-driven effort after charging towards goal. Nine minutes later Tobi Adebayo-Rowling had a pop from 30 yards but Winn was more than equal to it.
The restart saw Galway up their tempo, earning a few counter attacks through Vinny Faherty and Gary Shanahan. Ruairi Keating came close after he was played in by a Shanahan ball, but he failed to keep his side-footed effort down.
Sadlier's opening goal threatened to seal a dramatic away win with a beautifully struck effort that had Winn well beaten, Galway levelled the game with eleven minutes to go.
In the end, though, this was Sadlier's day and he did well to slot the ball past Winn again for the winner in the final stages of the clash to gift Rovers another important win.
Rovers' next outing is our SSE Airtricity League Premier Division clash with Finn Harps in Ballybofey this coming Friday. 
Galway United: Conor Winn, Marc Ludden, Kilian Cantwell, Paul Sinnott, John Sullivan, Enda Curran (Eric Foley 91), Ryan Connolly, Vinny Faherty (Jesse Dever 89), Ruairi Keating, Gary Shanahan, Armin Aganovic
Subs not used: Kevin Horgan, Cormac Raftery, Conor Melody, Stephen Folan
Sligo Rovers: Michael Schlingermann, Tobi Adebayo-Rowling, Regan Donelan (Phil Roberts 72), Raff Cretaro, Kieran Sadlier, Jordan Richards, Gary Boylan, Jimmy Keohane, John Russell, Lima Martin, Gavin Peers (Jaanai Gordon 83)
Sub not used: Ciaran Nugent, Chris Lyons, Gary Armstrong, Paul Doyle, Mikey Place