Watch goals: Rovers reach EA Sports semi-finals

Sligo Rovers reached the EA Sports Cup semi-final after a convincing 4-0 victory over Limerick at Thomond Park on Monday evening.

Jeff Henderson, Gavin Peers, Danny North and Evan McMillan were on target for Rovers in a fine display by Ian Baraclough's men to make it 12 goals in three games and the first time the club has kept five clean sheet in succession away from home in 23 years. 
Danny Galbraith threatend firstly for Limerick, he picked out Axel Bossekota in for a fourth minute chance but Ciaran Kelly, making a first start of the season, got down well to save.
Danny North struck the post with an effort in a sign of his determination to hit the target for the first time since coming back from a cruciate knee injury. 
But Rovers were soon in front as Henderson ran free of his man from a Kieran Djilali corner, powering a header past Barry Ryan.

With seven minutes of the half remaining, Rovers doubled their lead with a goal almost identical to their first. Djilali with the corner again picked out the unmarked Gavin Peers who found the back of the net with a header.

Rovers cruised home in the second period and it was marked by a goal for North in trademark style.

Lee Lynch took advantage of a mistake by the Limerick defence to pass the ball through for the striker and he slotted home. The celebrations afterwards included the 10 Rovers outfield players to acclaim North's significant goal.

Evan McMillan, one of three substitutes along with Ryan Connolly and Jake Dykes, then made it 4-0 as he showed fantastic composure to place the ball in the corner of the net from the edge of the area with his left foot.

The draw for the semi-finals will contain Drogheda Unied, Rovers, Derry City and St Patrick's Athletic/Shamrock Rovers.

The Bit o' Red meet Cork City this Friday in Turner's Cross in the Airtricity Premier Division. 

Limerick FC: Barry Ryan, Shaun Kelly, Stephen Folan, Brian O’Callaghan, Robbie Williams, Shane Tracy (Barry Sheedy, 74 mins), Stephen Bradley, David O’Leary (Val Feeney, 67 mins); Danny Galbraith, Rory Gaffney (Garbhan Coughlan, 45 mins), Axel Bossekota.

Subs not Used: Shane Cusack, Shane Costelloe, Joe Gamble, James McGrath.
Sligo Rovers: Ciaran Kelly, Alan Keane, Jeff Henderson, Gavin Peers, Ross Gaynor, Kieran Djilali, Seamus Conneely, Lee Lynch (Ryan Connolly, 66 mins), David Cawley (Evan McMillan, 75 mins), Liam Martin (Jake Dykes, 85 mins), Danny North.
Subs not Used: Gary Rogers, Marty Owens, Iarfhlaith Davoren.

Recent Articles

Clinically taken goals from Patrick McClean, Ally Roy and Jack Keaney earned Sligo Rovers victory at Richmond Park as St Patrick’s Athletic slumped to a fifth successive SSE Airtricity League Premier Division defeat. St Patrick's...
Sligo Rovers can confirm that goalkeeper Mitchell Beeney has agreed to sign for Sligo Rovers from 1 July from Chelsea. The 22-year-old has been on loan at Rovers this season and has established himself as number one in The Showgrounds,...
Sligo Rovers travel to Dublin on Friday to take on St Patrick’s Athletic in Richmond Park in the SSE Airtricity Premier Division.The Bit O’ Red go into the game in eighth in the Premier Division, but with three wins and two draws from...