Rovers 0-4 Dundalk - Report

Dundalk moved top of the Premier Division with a 4-0 win over ten man Sligo Rovers at the Showgrounds. Patrick McEleney and Michael Duffy netted for the champions in the first half while Ciaran Kilduff and Thomas Stewart made it three and four respectively in the second period. 
Rovers finished the game without their full quota of players after Jonah Ayunga was sent off mid-way through the second half following a second bookable offence.   
The Louth men took the lead on 12 minutes. Referee Ben Connolly adjudged Sligo skipper Craig Roddan to have fouled Benson at the edge of the Rovers area. McEleney made the most of the advantageous position, stepping up to send a bending effort past Shaun Patton.
Brian Gartland saw his powerful header fly wide of Patton's goal from a John Mountney corner on 22. While Kilduff could only fire straight at the Rovers goalkeeper two minutes later after a one-two with Benson.
Benson was next go close on 28 but could only drag his effort wayward. 
Dundalk netted their second ten minutes from the break. Paddy Barrett's through ball made its way through to Duffy who expertly slotted the ball between Patton and the post for his first goal for the club. 
Rovers' task was made more arduous when Ayunga was harshly dismissed following a second yellow on 66 minutes following a challenge on Barrett in front of the Dundalk area. 
Rovers' frustration with Connolly continued moments later when it looked like Cretaro was tripped by Gartland inside the Dundalk box, The referee waving play on, much to the annoyance of the home support. 
Dundalk put the result beyond doubt with their third on 76. McEleney's wonderful chipped pass found the marauding Sean Gannon. The young full back finding Kilduff who did well to get in front of his market to nod past Patton for his second of the year. 
Three became four nine minutes from time. Duffy's neat pass teeing up debutant Stewart who finished past Patton at the second attempt.
Sligo Rovers: Shaun Patton; Tobi Adebayo-Rowling, Mick Leahy, Kyle Callan-McFadden, Regan Donelon; Daniel Kearns (Kieran Sadlier 62), John Russell, Craig Roddan, Liam Martin; Raffaele Cretaro (Mathew Stevens 77), Jonah Ayunga.
Dundalk: Gabriel Sava; Sean Gannon, Brian Gartland, Paddy Barrett, Niclas Vemmelund; John Mountney (Jamie McGrath 71), Conor Clifford, Patrick McEleney, Michael Duffy (Steven Kinsella 83); Robbie Benson; Ciaran Kilduff (Thomas Stewart 79). 
Referee: Ben Connolly.  

Recent Articles

Sligo Rovers host Limerick on Friday in the SSE Airtricity Premier Division at The Showgrounds, kick-off 7:45pm.It is the start of the third series of matches for both teams. The fixture has so far produced away wins, 1-0 for Limerick on the opening...
Reminder that our next game is this FRIDAY against Limerick in The Showgrounds. Kick-off 7:45pm.  Note also that the scheduled game of Limerick v the #bitored in the Markets Field on Saturday 18 August at 6:30pm will now take place on Friday 17...
Sligo Rovers wish to thank our sponsors for Saturday's 0-0 draw with Shamrock Rovers.  Pictured below are Monsignor Michael Devine, Brian Fahy, Barney Bree, Tommy Higgins and Michael J Leyden, - members of the Vintage Reds and Rednecks...