Shamrock Rovers 1-1 Sligo Rovers; Report

Sligo Rovers picked up a great point on the road as they drew 1-1 with Shamrock Rovers at Tallaght Stadium. 
Gary Shaw netted in the first half before Sligo's Regan Donelon struck a wonderful free-kick past Kevin Horgan in the Hoops goal 14 minutes from time. 
The result also sees Rovers return west happy with the point, which sees Ger Lyttle's side remain outside the drop zone. 
Sligo carved out the first opportunity of this game on a slick Tallaght surface. Donelon's marauding run down the left saw him cross for Vinny Faherty, but the striker was unable to shift his position in time as his awkwardly hit header drifted wide of goal.
It took the home side some time to settle before they began to dominate. Shaw saw his headed effort come back off the crossbar from Simon Madden's cross on the quarter hour. While Dave McAllister's shot skimmed the top of the net on its way over five minutes later. 
The Dublin Rovers should have taken the lead on 24 minutes when Shaw showed a neat touch to bring the ball past Kyle Callan-McFadden but he could only blast over when one on one with Sligo goalkeeper Shaun Patton. 
The Hoops hit the lead on 33. Lee Grace, Aaron Bolger and Brandon Miele were all involved. The latter's ball to the front post met with a neat finish from the alert Shaw for his eleventh league goal of the season. While McAllister was next to find the crossbar four minutes from the break when he nodded Miele's corner on to the Sligo woodwork.
Sligo adjusted in the second half with substitute Greg Moorhouse partnering Faherty up top. Moorhouse passed up a wonderful opportunity to level the game two minutes after the re-start. He found himself through on goal, but the Dubliner badly skewed his effort wide. 
Following a low-key spell, the game burst back into life as the Connaught man summoned the equaliser.
Donelon sending a whipped, curling effort past the outstretched arms of Horgan. 
This heralded a strong period from the Bit O'Red who forced Horgan into a point blank save from a Faherty header ten minutes from time. While Moorhouse was involved again before full-time when his improvised effort came back off the post. 
Shamrock Rovers: Kevin Horgan; Simon Madden, Lee Grace, Roberto Lopes, Trevor Clarke (Luke Byrne 87); Dave McAllister, Ronan Finn; Cameron King (James Doona 75), Aaron Bolger, Brandon Miele; Gary Shaw. 
Sligo Rovers: Shaun Patton; Tobi Adebayo-Rowling; Kyle Callan-McFadden, Seamus Sharkey, Regan Donelon; John Russell (Jamie McDonagh 66), Jack Keaney (Greg Moorhouse 46), Rhys McCabe, Craig Roddan, Daniel Kearns (Benny Igiehon 75); Vinny Faherty. 
Referee: Jim McKell

Recent Articles

Sligo Rovers can confirm that goalkeeper Mitchell Beeney has agreed to sign for Sligo Rovers from 1 July from Chelsea. The 22-year-old has been on loan at Rovers this season and has established himself as number one in The Showgrounds,...
Sligo Rovers travel to Dublin on Friday to take on St Patrick’s Athletic in Richmond Park in the SSE Airtricity Premier Division.The Bit O’ Red go into the game in eighth in the Premier Division, but with three wins and two draws from...
The #bitored can confirm that midfielder Eduardo Pinceli has left the club by mutual agreement today.Eduardo has been a popular figure since joining the club, we thank him for the impact he made in his time here.Gerard Lyttle said: "We have...