AGM held in Clayton Hotel

Sligo Rovers held the club’s Annual General Meeting on Tuesday night in the Clayton Hotel.

Chairman Martin Heraghty gave his address on the year passed and his hopes for the club for 2019.

He thanked the management committee of 2018 for their hard work and support for the past 12 months.

A financial presentation was done by Treasurer David Rowe, reporting on the model used by the Bit O’ Red as now one of the few community clubs in the top flight.

He said there was a changing landscape in the League of Ireland with spending increasing due to private ownerships.

A loss was recorded for the year – reduced by well over 50% on the previous year – and he said the overall outcome was commendable for all involved given the difficulty of the season.

Gate receipts, season ticket sales, 500 club and donations all increased and Rowe said it was vital that these levels were maintained. He praised the effort and dedication of the Rovers members supporters.

He said the budget for 2019 had been approved by the FAI.

Secretary Brendan Lacken gave a report on the day to day operations of the club. Questions were taken from the floor from around 80 people in attendance.

It was stressed that fundraising would once again be pivotal for the club, including the €100 member donation.

That can be made here

The new management committee was elected. Gary Loughlin, Michael Mooney and Breifne Earley stepped down from the committee, with Martin McDonald the only nominee.

The following were elected as officers, with the only change Mark Cummins being appointed assistant secretary.

  • Chairman: Martin Heraghty
  • Vice-chairman: Andy Dodd
  • Secretary: Brendan Lacken
  • Treasurer: David Rowe
  • Assistant-Secretary: Mark Cummins

Committee: Marie Casserly, Michael Clancy, Stephen Gilroy, Paddy Houze, Anthony Quinn, Michael Toolan, Marcus White, Martin McDonald