Cawley Testimonial squad taking shape

Saturday evening will see Sligo Rovers Club Captain David Cawley honoured with his Testimonial game at 6pm at The Showgrounds.

Cawley welcomes back some former team-mates and friends to Churchill as they take on the current Rovers team.

Confirmed so far are fellow 2023 League winners Jason McGuinness, Joseph Ndo, Alan Keane and Danny North.

Mayo native Ronan Murray, who spent 2019 and 2020 at The Showgrounds with Cawley is also confirmed. The pair also played together at Galway United in 2017.

Leo Tierney and Paul Fielding will be part of Cawley’s backroom team for the game.

The current Bit O’ Red squad should feature those who don’t play in Friday’s game against Dundalk or indeed those who play less time than others however all players are expected to be part of the squad which will also be propped up by some of our Academy players who did so well in a recent friendly at home to Celtic B.

More players will be announced in the coming 24-48 hours.