Match Report: v Waterford

Waterford 0 – 1 Sligo Rovers

Sligo Rovers occupy second spot in the SSE Airtricity Premier Division after Ellis Chapman’s wonderful strike from range settled the game at the RSC on Friday, as the in-form Bit O’Red beat Waterford.

Rovers extended their unbeaten run to four in the process and kept their third clean sheet in their last four games despite playing the last twenty minutes of this game with ten men, after Simon Power was somewhat harshly sent off.

John Russell’s side were to bring to an end, the Blues’ unbeaten record this season but there were chances for both camps in the opening period.

Malaeace Asamoah’s header landed on the roof of Ed McGinty’s goal early on, while the reliable Sligo goalkeeper palmed away a Ryan Burke effort from the angle shortly after.

For Rovers, Fabrice Hartmann and Nando Pijnaker both worked Sam Sargeant in the Waterford nets. 
Chapman struck for his third league goal of the season five minutes into the second half. The former Cheltenham man firing home from distance to the delight of the 150 or so travelling supporters.

 There were chances for Rovers to double their lead. Max Mata denied by Sargeant after a loose pass in the host’s rearguard while Pijnaker found a way to goal but his effort was ruled out for offside.

Rovers were then reduced to ten with thirteen minutes of normal time to play when referee Marc Lynch decided to show the winger red after a challenge on a Waterford player. Much to the bemusement of both the visiting bench and support.

Rovers smothered any hope of a Waterford revival, limiting Keith Long’s charges to half chances. Former Rovers striker Padraig Amond mustered a late opportunity but McGinty held the effort as he claimed his fourth clean sheet of the season. Rovers doing enough to hold on for a first victory in Waterford since 2021.

Waterford FC: Sam Sargeant; Darragh Power, Ryan Burke, Niall O’Keeffe (Ben McCormack 70), Grant Horton, Rowan McDonald, Padraig Amond, Conor Parsons, Maleace Asamoah (Dean McMenamy 70), Darragh Leahy (Connor Evans 85), Kacper Radkowski (Christie Pattison 70).

Sligo Rovers: Ed McGinty; Reece Hutchinson, Ellis Chapman (Kailin Barlow 65), Charlie Wiggett, Niall Morahan, Fabrice Hartmann (William Fitzgerald 65), Oliver Denham, Max Mata (Wilson Waweru 65), Simon Power, Conor Malley, Nando Pijnaker.

Referee: Marc Lynch.