McGinty called into Under-21 squad

Congratulations to Ed McGinty on his call-up to the Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad for their upcoming training camp. #bitored

Ed is one of three goalkeepers in the 25-player group for the camp to take place in Northern Ireland.

It is a four-day training camp in Northern Ireland from 31 August – 3 September.

He will be back for training with Rovers from Friday 4 September ahead of the game with Finn Harps three days later.

Liam Buckley said: “I’m delighted for Ed. He is an outstanding goalkeeper. From my first days here I could see what a talent he is and I’ve been delighted with his progress and his contribution to the team.

“He has just turned 21, we know he has a great future, he has established himself as number one goalkeeper and this is a deserved reward for all of his efforts.

“We’ve a host of good young goalkeepers at the club. They work Leo (Tierney, goalkeeping coach) every day in training and with the group, as well as the underage as well where we see even more talent coming through. Ed is proving himself as an example to all.

“They are the present and the future of the club which is great for everyone.

“Ed will be in the squad this Sunday, he can then join the Ireland camp and be back in time to prepare for the Finn Harps game which is important.”

Ireland U-21s have three crucial qualifiers in October and November against Italy, Iceland and Luxembourg and the training camp will provide crucial preparation time.

Republic of Ireland U-21 Squad

Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Rochdale, on loan from Manchester City), Ed McGinty (Sligo Rovers).

Defenders: Lee O’Connor (Tranmere Rovers, on loan from Celtic), Danny McNamara (St. Johnstone, on loan from Millwall), Darragh Leahy (Dundalk), Conor Masterson (QPR), Liam Scales (Shamrock Rovers), Luke McNally (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Nathan Collins (Stoke City), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Thomas O’Connor (Southampton).

Midfielders: Dan Mandroiu (Bohemians), Jason Knight (Derby County), Jack Taylor (Peterborough United), Will Ferry (Southampton), Will Smallbone (Southampton), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Connor Ronan (Grasshoppers Zurich, on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers).

Attackers: Michael Obafemi (Southampton), Danny Grant (Bohemians), Jonathan Afolabi (Celtic), Zach Elbouzedi (Lincoln City), Neil Farrugia (Shamrock Rovers), Ryan Cassidy (Watford).