Report: Rovers 0-5 Peamount United

Clinical and efficient would best describe Peamount Utd as they made a worthwhile visit to the Showgrounds today where they picked up three valuable Women’s National League points with a 5-0 win against Sligo Rovers.

Stephanie Roche (two) and Alannah McEvoy in the first-half, an own goal from Amy Roddy and a Roche penalty in the second-half accounted for the tally in what was an impressive display by the Dublin side.

Orna O’Dowd and Gemma McGuinness were absent for the Bit O’Red through injury on a day when Steve Feeney’s side needed their strongest starting 11.

Stephanie Roche headed Peamount into a seventh minute lead as the Dublin side dictated the early exchanges and she added a second in the 12th minute.

It was all Peamount at that stage and it could have been worse for the hosts as Aine O’Gorman shaved the woodwork soon after on two occasions.

On the half-hour mark Peamount made it 3-0 when Alannah McEvoy headed home after a series of corners, but to their credit Sligo Rovers countered and went close when Fiona Doherty’s speculative effort from the right hit the crossbar.

Aine O’Gorman was narrowly off target again in the 40th minute while at the other end a surging Kerri O’Hara run had the Peamount defence scrambling, but they cleared the danger at the expense of a corner.

The second-half was only two minutes old when Peamount pressure produced a fourth goal when the ball deflected off Sligo’s Amy Roddy and into her own net.

Despite that setback and despite constant Peamount pressure, Sligo kept a positive attitude and createda number of chances on the break without making any impact on the scoreboard.

Stephanie Roche completed her hat-trick when she converted a 72nd minute penalty and Peamount were never in any danger as they continued to create chances right up until the 90th minute.

Sligo Rovers – Amy Mahon; Leah Kelly, Ruth Monaghan, Amy Hundman, Lauren Boles, Emma Doherty, Amy Roddy, Katie Melly, Kerri O’Hara, Fiona Doherty, Lauren McLellan.

Subs – Jessica Casey for McLellan 58 mins, Emma Hansberry for Melly 65 mins, Ciara Henry for O’Hara and Helen Monaghan for E Doherty both 75 mins

Peamount Utd – Niamh Reid-Burke; Lauryn O’Callaghan, Tiegan Ruddy, Dora Gorman, Sadhbh Doyle, Alannah McEvoy, Stephanie Roche, Aine O’Gorman, Keran Duggan, Tara O’Hanlon, Erin McLaughlin.
Subs – Michelle Doonan for Doyle 70 mins, Dearbhaile Beirne for Roche and Rebecca Carroll for Ruddy both 75 mins, Rebecca McMahon for McEvoy 85 mins

Referee – Mark Houlihan.
Asistant Referees – Chris Campbell, Martin Cuddihy.

Fourth Official – Damien McGrath