Rovers beaten in final game

Peamount Utd hit Sligo Rovers for six in the final home game of the season at PRL Park on Saturday evening where the newly-crowned Women’s Premier Division champions recorded a 6-1 victory, writes Conall Collier.

Interviewed before kick-off for the live TG4 action, Sligo Rovers manager Steve Feeney indicated that his side needed to concede less goals, but that deficiency was clearly highlighted in a 20-minute spell in the second-half.

Although she picked the ball out of the net six times, Sligo Rovers ‘keeper Amber Hardy made some excellent saves in the opening 45 minutes as the hosts attempted to turn on the style.

Peamount struggled to make an impact on the scoreboard until the closing minutes of the first-half when Jess Fitzgerald broke the deadlock and Ellen Dolan added a second goal as the clock hit 45 minutes for a 2-0 advantage.

Trailing at the interval, the Bit O’Red were blitzed either side of the hour mark when Erin McLoughlin (penalty), Dolan, Fitzgerald and substitute Avril Brierly all found the net and wrapped up a thoroughly merited victory for the hosts.

There was brief respite for Sligo Rovers when Emma Doherty surged forward on 65 minutes and confidently rounded the Peamount ‘keeper before slotting to the net.

Sligo Rovers also went close before the end when the crossbar saved the Peamount rearguard.

This was Steve Feeney’s last game in charge and former Athlone Town manager Tommy Hewitt will now take over the reins at the Showgrounds for the 2024 season.

Peamount Utd – Niamh Reid-Burke; Lauryn O’Callaghan, Jetta Berrill, Chloe Moloney, Dearbhaile Beirne, Karen Duggan, Jessica Fitzgerald, Sadhbh Doyle, Erin McLaughlin, Ellen Dolan, Freya Healy.

Subs – Watkins for Healy 53 mins, Avril Brierley for Dolan and Caoimhe Connaughton for Moloney both 64m, Louise Masterson for O’Callaghan and Shannon Thomas for McLaughlin both 83m

Sligo Rovers – Amber Hardy; Leah Kelly, Alice Lillie, Sarah Kiernan, Eimear Lafferty, Emma Hansberry, Lauren Boles, Emma Doherty, Jodie Loughrey, Casey Howe, Keri Loughrey.

Subs – Amy Roddy for Lafferty and Ciara Henry for Kelly both 64 mins, Katie Melly for Howe and Jessica Casey for Hansberry both 80m, Kate Nugent for Boles 85.

Referee – Mark Houlihan.