Under 19 Team defeat Bray Wanderers

Saturday afternoon saw our Under 19 team host Bray Wanderers at The Sean Fallon Centre in the Under 19 League Of Ireland Shield semi-final.

The Under 19 team were without a game since October but they didn’t let their lack of match practice show as the lads ran out convincing 6-2 winners.

The away side were reduced to 10 men early on when a high boot caught Peter Maguire in the chest, with referee Damien MacGrath having no option but to issue the red card.

Aaron Perry saw a first half penalty saved by the Bray goalkeeper, before Sean Kerrigan converted a second Rovers’ spot kick soon after, with MacGrath pointing to the spot after a foul in the area.

Bray showed good spirit and equalised before half time with a well taken goal.

Cillian Heaney scored early in the second half for Rovers to restore the lead with a close range finish. Moments later it was 3-1, with Perry making up for his earlier missed penalty with a wonderful free kick from range.

Bray kept battling and reduced the lead again with a fine effort which gave James Robinson no chance in The Rovers’ goal.

It was 4-2 soon after, with Heaney’s mazy run creating space for substitute Johnny Kenny to get in behind the Bray defence and Heaney’s through ball was perfect for Kenny to finish well past the ‘keeper.

Tubbercurry native Perry made it five with another long distance effort, cutting in from the left and curling it around the Bray goalkeeper in the right hand corner.

The scoring was complete in the final few minutes when Under 17 players Kailin Barlow and Kenny combined, with Barlow playing his team-mate through on goal and The Riverstown man made no mistake with his finish.

Brian Dorrian and his staff take their side to Athlone on Tuesday night for The Under 19 Shield Final against UCD at 7pm.


James Robinson, Daniel Gray-Harrigan, Jason Devaney, Peter Maguire, Bryan Lynch, Rossa McAllister, Conor McKeon, Sean Kerrigan, Aaron Perry, Cillian Heaney, Ciaran Jennings.


Johnny Kenny, Kailin Barlow, Cillian Gaffey (GK), Cian Kilcoyne, Lee Wilson, Sean McAteer, Ben Edeh.