Academy Awards presented last night

Our Academy Player of The Year awards were presented last night at our Senior Men’s game against St. Patrick’s Athletic.

The winners were:

Under 19 Men’s: Sean McAteer who was presented with his award by Head of Academy Conor O’ Grady. Sean has been impressive in midfield this season and has secured a scholarship at ATU Sligo, which began in September.

Under 19 Women’s: Katie McGuire was selected as Under 19 Women’s Player of The Year and presented with her award by Brian McIntyre from Overstock, who sponsor the team. Katie finished top goalscorer in 2022 for the team with an impressive 15 goals.

Under 17 Men’s: Daire Patton, who attends Summerhill College was the winner of this award. Daire was given the award by Bit O’ Red goalkeeper Luke McNicholas before kick-off. Daire plays in midfield and chipped in with a number of goals in 2022.

Under 15: Ballymote native James Lavin was the winner of our Under 15 Player of The Year this season. James is a strong tackling defensive player and impressed throughout the year with a string of good performances. James received his award from Luke McNicholas also.

Under 14: Jamie O’ Malley was our top scorer at Under 14 Level in 2022, scoring 8 goals competitively. Jamie picked up his award off Luke McNicholas also, just before the game.

We wish to thank all our Academy sponsors:

Ej Menswear

Ivor Parke Paintors and Decorators


Avenue Mould

O Connor Cabins

Paul Gallagher