Another clean sheet earns valuable point in Galway

Sligo Rovers kept their second clean sheet in a row and their seventh of the season as the Bit O’Red came away from Eamonn Deacy Park with a hard fought point, after an evenly matched game with Galway United. 

Both sides had chances in this one, with Ed McGinty’s wonderful late save from a Wassim Aouachria shot the highlight of what was a good evening for the Rovers number one. 

Wilson Waweru almost won the game for the visitors in the dying moments with a late, late chance. 

Rovers started the brighter in Galway in warm conditions. Stefan Radosavljevic worked a decent save from former Rovers shot-stopper Bredan Clarke, after fine work from Max Mata, on his last appearance for the club before his loan spell ended. 

The hosts gradually settled into this one and had chances courtesy of Killian Brouder and Patrick Hickey, but Sligo were in no humour to concede to their Connacht rivals.

John Caulfield’s side hit the woodwork in the second half. David Hurley’s header looped over McGinty and on to the top of the crossbar, while Stephen Walsh volleyed over on the rebound.

The influential Connor Malley headed narrowly over from a Radosavljevic corner, before Mata had what looked like genuine calls for a spot-kick dismissed when Brouder seemed to have obstructed Mata inside the area. 

John Russell’s charges ended this game well on top but there was a late opportunity for Galway to steal the points. McGinty however got across in time to push away Aouachria’s blasted effort with both hands as time ran out.

Indeed, the aforementioned Waweru almost took the spoils in injury time. Against his local club, Waweru was crowded out as Clarke and friends just did enough to put the striker off his shot, the ball instead dribbling past the far post much to Clarke’s relief. 

Rovers’ next game is a Premier Division clash with Bohemians, this Friday, May 17th at the Showgrounds. Kick-off 7.45pm. 

Galway United: Brendan Clarke; Jeannot Esua, Robert Slevin, Killian Brouder, Al Amin Kazeem (Wassim Aouachria 86); David Hurley, Conor McCormack; Aodh Dervin (Leon Gaxha 57), Patrick Hickey (Maurice Nugent 57), Ed McCarthy (Conor O’Keeffe 78); Stephen Walsh (Francely Lomboto 78)

Sligo Rovers: Ed McGinty; JR Wilson, Oliver Denham, Charlie Wiggett, Reece Hutchinson; Fabrice Hartmann (Rein Smit 73), Connor Malley, Niall Morahan, Stefan Radosavlevic (Owen Elding 60); Ellis Chapman; Max Mata (Wilson Waweru 63)

Referee: Damien McGrath