Disappointing night in Waterford for Rovers

A heavily depleted Sligo Rovers suffered their first defeat in four games as they were beaten by Waterford at the RSC.

Without nine members of the first team squad through injury, an international call-up and state exams, the Bit O’Red were unable to name a full bench.

Former Rovers man Padraig Amond netted twice, while goals for Connor Parsons and Ben McCormack supplemented the result for the Blues. Wilson Waweru struck a magnificent mid-air volley for Sligo’s consolation.

Without John Mahon, Nando Pijnaker, Simon Power and Conor Reynolds because of injuries and Stefan Radosavljevic due to a call up to the Faroe Islands’ squad, John Russell was also missing four players due to the leaving certificate. Namely Daire Patton, Kyle McDonagh, David Jonathan and Aiden Gabbidon.

Restricted by the personnel available to him, Russell made one change from the win over Drogheda. Owen Elding coming in for the afore mentioned Radosavljevic.

Despite the arduous cross-country journey to the south east, it was the visitors who started this game the stronger. Fabrice Hartmann in particular causing issues for Sam Sargeant’s defence early on.

 Waterford opened the scoring 24 minutes in. Ben McCormack firing an effort into the ground as the ball bounced over the unfortunate Ed McGinty.

Two became three on the hour when Grant Horton’s ball forward was met by Parsons who arrowed the ball past the diving McGinty after the goalkeeper had pulled off a number of superb saves to keep Rovers in this game.

Amond had his first and the hosts’ third on 67 when he slotted home from the spot.

Waweru pulled one back with a stunning volley but Amond confirmed the result late on when he headed home a McCormack cross.

Rovers’ next game comes on Thursday June 13th, Oriel Park the venue as we take on Dundalk at 7.45pm.

Waterford: Sam Sargeant; Darragh Power, Grant Horton, Rowan McDonald (Niall O’Keeffe 73), Ben McCormack (Gbemi Arubi 89), Padraig Amond, Connor Parsons (Connor Evans 89), Darragh Leahy (Ryan Burke 81), Kacper Radkowski, Christie Pattisson, Dean McMenamy (Robbie McCourt 81).

Sligo Rovers: Ed McGinty; John Ross Wilson, Reece Hutchinson, Ellis Chapman, Charlie Wiggett, Niall Morahan, Fabrice Hartmann, Oliver Denham, Conor O’Malley, Kailin Barlow (Wilson Waweru 73), Owen Elding (Will Fitzgerald 63).

Referee: Neil Doyle