Report: Rovers Women 1-2 Treaty United

Sligo Rovers slumped to a Women’s Premier Division defeat at The Showgrounds on Saturday evening against a spirited and gutsy Treaty United side that claimed the points with a 2-1 victory, writes Conall Collier.

Treaty super-sub Hannah Saidi hit a sensational 82nd minute winner as the Limerick side recovered from an interval deficit and got back on terms through Cara Griffin in the 62nd minute.

The victory was thoroughly deserved as Treaty dominated for most of the game after a tentative opening period.

Treaty United played well in the first-half, but Sligo Rovers scored the all-important goal in the 43rd minute to take that interval lead to the dressing room.

Casey Howe did the spadework and last season’s top scorer Emma Doherty capitalised on a favourable bounce outside the Treaty penalty area to send an opportunist strike past Ann-Marie Ulliac with the aid of a deflection.

Claire Winter then had two chances in the space of a minute around the half-hour mark, but failed to find the net.

However, Kilbey found the net soon after but the goal was ruled out by referee Mark Houlihan and the official also ignored claims for a Treaty penalty in the 37th minute.

Treaty resumed smartly after the break and after Griffin’s equaliser, Claire Winter was denied by the woodwork and Bit O’Red ‘keeper Amy Mahon made a couple of smart saves.

 Treaty’s spirit was rewarded when Saidi hit that priceless goal for a first win of the season for a team that didn’t win in 27 League outings last season.

Sligo Rovers – Amy Mahon; Helen Monaghan, Sarah Kiernan, Keela Scanlon, Orna O’Dowd, Leah Kelly, Emma Hansberry, Lauren Boles, Kerri Loughrey, Emma Doherty, Casey Howe. 

Subs – Fiona Doherty for Hansberry 58 mins, Kate Nugent for O’Dowd and Kerri O’Hara for Monaghan both 75m.

Treaty Utd – Ann-Marie Ulliac; Grace McInerney, Alannah Mitchell, Cooper Lee Lane, Chloe Hennigan, Ciara McCormack, Emma Costelloe, Claire Winter, Kiara Kilbey, Cara Griffin, Hayley Walsh. 

Subs – Jacqueline Julie Altrogge for McCormack half-time, Naoise Griffin for Walsh 61 mins, Hannah Saidi for Kilbey 73m, Ruth McDonnell for C Griffin 84m.

Referee – Mark Houlihan.