Rovers take a point from the Brandywell

Derry City 2 – 2 Sligo Rovers

Sligo Rovers picked up an impressive and wholly deserved point from the Ryan McBride Brandywell, as the Bit O’Red drew two goals a piece with Derry City. 

The Candystripes had to twice come from behind to claim the point. Michael Duffy answered Reece Hutchinson’s opener and although Niall Morahan had Rovers ahead again in the second half following a quality finish from the edge of the box, City managed to claim a point courtesy of a controversial Will Patching penalty. 

Without a handful of first team players due to injury, Rovers really impressed in the opening half. 

Hutchinson’s opener on 18 minutes totally caught out Derry keeper Brian Maher as the full back’s dinked effort from the end line floated over the net minder’s head and into the far corner. 

Rovers goalkeeper Ed McGinty pulled off a number of sensational saves in this one. His first coming soon after Rovers’ opener as McGinty kept a well struck shot from Duffy out with his legs.

The Candystripes made three subs at half-time in an effort to try and take hold of this game.

Some brave defending and more super stops from McGinty kept the home side at bay for the majority. Although Derry did level the game six minute after the re-start when Duffy scored from close range.

Derry did squander a number of decent opportunities before Morahan put Rovers back in the driving seat 67 minutes. The Leitrim man making the very most of a Maher mishap before flashing the ball into the corner of Maher’s net. 

Rovers held out until the 83rd minute when Paul McMullen fell to ground very easily inside McGinty’s box, after Hutchinson was unable to control a ball forward from the Derry rearguard. Patching slotted home the subsequent spot kick. 

McGinty preserved a much deserved point at the death when he somehow kept out Shane McEleney’s close range header. 

Derry City: Brian Maher, Ronan Boyce (Cameron Dummigan HT), Shane McEleney, Sam Todd (Cameron McJannet HT), Ben Doherty (Daniel Mullen 74); Sadou Diallo (Patrick McEleney HT); Adam O’Reilly, Will Patching; Paul McMullan, Pat Hoban, Michael Duffy.

Sligo Rovers: Ed McGinty, John Wilson, Reece Hutchinson, Ellis Chapman, Charlie Wiggett, NIall Morahan, Fabrice Hartmann (Owen Elding 75), Stefan Radosavljevic, Conor Malley, Kailin Barlow, Conor Reynolds (Rein Smit 75).

Referee: Rob Hennessy.